[FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Got a problem getting things to work? Drop us a line here and you'll find all the help you need.
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by zyrom »

strange... thinking that it might be the cvs version of wine that made the diff, i downloaded and compiled that... no dice. So the only thing left must be the Xserver then, grmble. And there seems to be no RPM version of the 6.9 version out so il have to go get the source then and try that.
btw do you know if you have xkb extension enabled in the Xserver ?
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
blaah
Posts: 1333
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:43 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by blaah »

zyrom wrote:btw do you know if you have xkb extension enabled in the Xserver ?
enabled XKEYBOARD and XInputExtension, shift/alt/ctrl still works correctly in Ryzom
my Xorg.log, maybe you'll find something from there.
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by zyrom »

well is see two things that might make a difference: 1. us keyboard which i dont use, and X11 version 6.99...
Il try the first one and wait a bit with the second one since i'm not to keen on going into rpm dependency limbo upgrading X to V7 :) ...

Edit: Solved it! :) what gave me the hint whas the US keyboard.

i got the LANG setting to "en_US.UTF-8". For the "xset -r" hack to work the LANG enviroment variable need to be "en_US" plain and simple, so starting Ryzom with (i added the function keys to the one Blaah sugested btw):

Code: Select all

for k in 50 37 64 62 109 113 59 5A 5B 4F 57 81 89 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 95 96; do xset r $k;done
LANG="en_US" wine ./client_ryzom_rd.exe
does the trick, no more garbage when holding down the modifier keys or the function keys, and direct input is working meaning that mouse navigation is also working :) a small victory. Now if i could get rid of the anoying lag spikes...
Last edited by zyrom on Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
abracax
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:51 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by abracax »

Code: Select all

for k in 50 37 64 62 109 113 59 5A 5B 4F 57 81 89 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 95 96; do xset r $k;done
LANG="en_US" wine ./client_ryzom_rd.exe
Heya. The above command seems to have a flaw. Values such as 5A, 5B, 4F and so on, are not recognized by xset.

Should i just replace those values with the decimal representation of them?

Edit:
Also, it just doesn't work... i still get garbage when i press any of the suspect keys, when i have Direct Input enabled.

Edit 2:
The keycodes are right btw. xev as well as winedebug tell me that alt = 64. Still, after i use xset r 64, as soon as i press alt in the game, it outputs funny stuff into the chat window...
Last edited by abracax on Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by zyrom »

abracax wrote:..... Still, after i use xset r 64, as soon as i press alt in the game, it outputs funny stuff into the chat window...
hmm remeber to export the LANG setting without it, it wont work, it could be that you need to set it before doing the xset..

you could also try:

Code: Select all

export LANG=en_US
for i in $(seq 35 255); do xset r $i; done
which will set all keycodes from 35 to 255...
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
abracax
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:51 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by abracax »

zyrom wrote:hmm remeber to export the LANG setting without it, it wont work, it could be that you need to set it before doing the xset..

you could also try:

Code: Select all

export LANG=en_US
for i in $(seq 35 255); do xset r $i; done
which will set all keycodes from 35 to 255...
Hi, and sorry for the late reply. I did export the LANG variable, so that can't be the reason. I also tried doing what you suggested, but that didn't help either. I am kinda at a loss at what to do.
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by zyrom »

abracax wrote:Hi, and sorry for the late reply. ....
np. im not the epitome of speed either :p .

Frankly im a but stumped on your problem, other suggestions:
what desktop manager are you using ? tried using another one ?
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Update on the fiber issue

Post by zyrom »

I happend to wander over to SoniX's blog the dev that aparently intoduced the fiber stuf in Ryzom... and there might be a small hope still that we might be able to play under cedega again:
Here is a list of some of the problems I encoutered :
:
:
:The Fiber API is not supported by the Windows emulator on linux. This prevented some of Nevrax customer to run Ryzom on an emulated windows.
and a bit farther down:
I already ears the voices of some windows emulated linux users saying 'finaly, he takes his mind back'. But it worth the cost to try it.
so it seems that there might be a chance for future patch...

you can read the blog entry here
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
abracax
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 1:51 am

Re: Update on the fiber issue

Post by abracax »

Thanks for the link. Yeah, let's hope we get lucky.. It would be awesome to finally be able to play this game without problems in Linux.
User avatar
zyrom
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:48 am

Re: [FAQ] Ryzom in Linux (The Unofficial HOW-TO)

Post by zyrom »

abracax wrote:Hi, and sorry for the late reply. I did export the LANG variable, so that can't be the reason. I also tried doing what you suggested, but that didn't help either. I am kinda at a loss at what to do.
ok... one idea: try from another window *after* ryzom has started
You cannot achieve the impossible without attempting the absurd.

Ryzom_on_linux_wiki
Post Reply

Return to “Technical Support”